Mitos 17 low1

Members of the orchestra 2017:

Ross Daly: lyra, tarhu, saz, rabab

Efren Lopez: rabab, hurdy gurdy, oud, saz

Evgenios Voulgaris: yaylitambur

Κelly Thoma: lyra

Sergios Voulgaris: koudoum, bendir

Meira Segal: ney, gaida

Nikos Paraoulakis: ney

Eleftheria Daoultzi: kanun

Nikos Papageorgiou: tambur

Marijia Katsouna: percussion

Taxiarchis Georgoulis: oud

Michael Harrist: double bass

Chrysanthi Gkika: lyra of Istanbul

Νikos Papaioannou: cello






The Orchestra had been formed with the express purpose of focusing on the works of contemporary composers of a relatively new genre of music which has been dubbed as Contemporary Modal Music. This genre highlights elements deriving from a rich variety of different traditions. This genre is by nature supra-national and is in no way a reflection of any given ethnic or regional identity.

In this way, the orchestra serves as a catalyst as well as a meeting point for contemporary composers whose interest in modal music focuses on the rich network of cross influences which far overshadows any somewhat narrow mono-ethnic dimension.

In the two concerts of the orchestra (islands of Rhodes and Crete), compositions of Efren Lopez, Kelly Thoma, Evgenios Voulgaris, Michiel van der Meulen, Christos Barbas, and Ross Daly performed.


Mitos17low 4


Mitos17low 3


Mitos17low 1